Santa Fe Indian School

About SFIS

Bureau of Indian Education

Santa Fe Indian School is authorized under P. L. 100-297, the Tribally Controlled Schools Act. The school receives its funding through the U. S. Department of Interior. Within the Interior Department, Native American education is the responsibility of the Bureau of Indian Education (BIE), which serves students in 184 schools in 23 states. The majority of these schools are tribally controlled with a smaller number operated by the Bureau.

The Bureau’s main office, the Department of Performance and Accountability is located in Albuquerque, New Mexico, with two line offices that work directly with the schools. Santa Fe Indian School falls under the New Mexico North (NMN) line office. NMN also provides oversight to the Bureau operated schools located in the Pueblos of Taos, Santa Clara, San Ildefonso, and the other two tribally controlled schools located in Ohkay Owingeh and Tesuque Pueblos. New Mexico South oversees the Bureau operated schools in the Pueblos of San Felipe, Zia, Jemez, Isleta, and Acoma, and the tribally controlled schools at Laguna Pueblo.

For more information, please visit